Why this Atheist is Prepared to Defend Religious Liberties

Generally, I am wary of labels. I try to avoid them at all costs, which is a difficult task these days, so to some extent it is unavoidable. Labels tend to segregate people; whether it is left-wing/right-wing or Christian/Muslim. I like to think of myself as simply a human being, whereas others desperately feel the need to apply specific labels in a desperate attempt to define themselves.

Although, I will admit I am comfortable with describing myself as an atheist, as well as a libertarian. The latter is one of few labels out there that doesn’t function to segregate the masses. Its core principal is respect for others. That is why as an individual who would prefer a world without a god- of any description- it would be hypocritical of me to force others to abandon their belief in the Divine. Put simply, it is just plain disrespectful.

So when I witness a group like the United Patriots Front (UPF) call for the extirpation of Islam from Australia, I rally to the side of my Muslim brothers and sisters (despite my objections to certain aspects of their beliefs). And I will continue to do so until the day god, is but an academic footnote contained within some dusty tome locked away in the deep dark recesses of the Earth.

Leave a Reply

